New Music: Beyoncé – ‘I Was Here’

Well, it’s certainly been Beyoncé mania here at the House of Sonnie, but it is Bey season and I’m sure the stans don’t mind! But photo shoots and leaked music aside, we still haven’t actually experienced Beyoncé yet. Where are the TV appearances and interviews? Yes, there are some gigs lined up starting with her headlining show at Glastonbury and the BET Awards later tonight, but the album drops in less than 2 days. I know that there will be a ton of promotion following the release, but what about promo leading up to it? I mean you do want people to go out and buy the album and make those first week sales, especially with it already receiving some less than favorable reviews. And with the entire album, including the deluxe edition, leaking almost a month ago, there isn’t the same anticipation we usually see during Bey season.

Having said all that, I’m sure the stans will make sure the album is a success regardless. I just don’t like to see someone as talented as Beyoncé fall into “the album may not be that good, but the stans will still buy it anyway” category. Especially when some of the music is actually quite good. Case & point, ‘I Was Here’, written by legendary songwriter, Diane Warren.

Listen to the track and see what Warren had to say about Bey after the jump.

Diane Warren revealed in an interview with PopWrap earlier this month that she had contributed to Beyoncé’s latest album stating:

“I just wrote something a week and a half ago that Beyoncé recorded and I think it’s the best thing I’ve ever written. She sang it amazingly. I think it’s a career song and probably my favorite thing I’ve ever written… right now.”

Beyoncé – ‘I Was Here

 

Today’s Album quotable:

Posted on June 26, 2011, in Beyoncé, New Music. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment